DEPARTMENT OF Computer Science

The Computer Science Department was established in year 1998. The Department conducts B.Sc. (Hons.) Computer Science program. The curriculum framework and structure of this course is based on National Education Policy (NEP) 2020. This course provides the needed thrust for aspirants in the field of Information Technology including the core Computer Science subjects along with Mathematics, etc. The department provides excellent infrastructure to impart technical skills using the latest software development tools and technologies.

For the holistic development of students, student Council of the department organizes inter college Annual Technical fest ‘Tech Melange’ every year. Various workshops/technical talks/seminars in the field of emerging trends and technologies are also organised to strengthen the technical knowledge base of the students. It enables them to secure various employment opportunities in the field of IT and Computer Science.

Students of the department got placement in various IT industries like Wipro Technologies, TCS, Accenture, HCL, Tech Mahindra etc. Students can also pursue various post graduate courses like M.Sc., M.C.A. and M.B.A apart from the choice of taking up employment. Alumnae of the Department are pursuing higher education in various reputed institutes like University of Oxford, South Asian University, JNU, IIT, Lambton College, Canada etc.

The Department of Computer Science has excellent infrastructure for executing software skills using the latest software development tools and technologies. The department has five well equipped ICT enabled labs namely

  • Computer Lab 1
  • Computer Lab 2
  • Computer Lab 3
  • Computer Lab 4
  • CISCO Lab

The department has 151 computers with latest computer configuration: Intel core i7 – 3.4 GHz processors with 4 GB RAM, 64-bit operating System with Wi-Fi connectivity, three High-end HP ML350G8 Tower Model Servers and Laptop. A good combination of Licensed software and Free/Open Source software to enrich student practical experience. Three HP LaserJet 4555HMFP server printers, colour laser printer, laser printers cum scanners. Each lab has a mounted LCD projector which is used during seminars and presentations.
CISCO laboratory is further equipped with CISCO 2900 series routers, CISCO 1900 switches 24 Port full Duplex, Bay stack 425 24 T switches, 16 port hubs, cable testers etc.

Department also has various utility rooms like programmer/server room, departmental library, UPS room, teaching rooms. Department has skilled lab staff which includes a Technical Assistant, Lab Assistants and Lab Attendants to manage the lab work efficiently.

Departmental Library: The Department has a small library/book club. It has more than 200 books donated by faculty and alumnae.

Internet facilities for Staff and Students: To enhance the spirit of research work among students the labs are equipped with Internet facility to provide access to e-journals and other scientific portals of interest. It is available to both staff and students.

Name Designation Detail
Dr. Suruchi Chawla Associate Professor
Dr. Deepali Bajaj Associate Professor
Dr. Aakanksha Associate Professor
Ms. Urmil Bharti Assistant Professor
Ms. Tina Sachdeva Assistant Professor
Ms. Seema Assistant Professor
Ms. Neha Gandhi Assistant Professor
Dr. Anshika Singh Assistant Professor
Ms. Monika Assistant Professor

Department of Computer Science conducts elections to select their Departmental Council representatives every year. Members of the Council plays a major role in the organization of yearly Technical Fest – “TECH-MELANGE”, Workshops, Seminars, Conferences, etc.

The Department organizes its Technical fest “Tech Melange” every year. The students organize it with great zeal introducing an element of competition in technology. Every year we experience an increase in participation of students from other colleges.

Projects Completed:

  • Development of Garden bot: An automatic irrigation system sensing soil moisture content using self-made sensor for efficient use of resources and optimum flow of water in the fields.
    1. Funding Authority: Innovation Desk, University of Delhi Grant: 5 lakhs.
  • Health buddy: Android based mobile application to track nutritional intake of young college students.
    1. Funding Authority: Innovation Desk, University of Delhi Grant: 3.5 lakhs.
  • Group based co-ordination for Information Exchange in Adhoc Networks.
    1. Funding Authority: Innovation Desk, University of Delhi Grant: 4. 5 lakhs.
  • Isolation and Characterization of Halotolerant Bacteria from Saline Soils and Study Effect on Wheat Seedlings
    1. Funding Authority: Innovation Desk, University of Delhi Grant: 6 lakhs.
  • Impact of behavioural addiction to use of gadgets on physical and mental health of adolescent.
    1. Funding Authority: Innovation Desk, University of Delhi Grant: 3.5 lakhs.
  • Mobile phone based attendance app: an innovative approach towards futuristic e-colleges
    1. Funding Authority: Innovation Desk, University of Delhi Grant: 3.5 lakhs.

Conference: A national conference has also been organised by Department

  • First National Conference on Advancements of Electronics and Computer Applications.NCAECA-2016(in association with Department of Electronics)